Megan Favaro Award

Megan Favaro, a tremendous young woman with Special Needs, was an enthusiastic supporter of GGHA's 2013-2014 Midget AA Team. Megan attended as many games as she could and was a tremendous inspiration to all of the players and their families. Megan's infectious spirit and pure love of the game helps to remind everyone she touches how very fortunate we are to play/participate in the great game of hockey.

In September of 2013, Megan made a personal donation of \$250 to the Team with a note saying that the money she was donating was to thank all of the girls for allowing her to be a part of the team. Megan intended that this money, which she had personally earned, was to help offset some of the team's operating costs.

To better honour Megan's generous donation, this money has been re-directed to the GGHA to fund "The Megan Favaro Spirit Award". This annual distinction will recognize a player on the top tier GGHA Midget team who is deemed to have tangibly demonstrated the positive spirit that Megan brought to the game.

The criteria selection includes:

- Demonstrates the virtues of good sportsmanship & fair play.
- Extends a determined and passionate effort always.
- Personifies an encouraging and positive attitude.
- Commits to a "team first mentality" and willingly accepts their particular role on the team.
- Shows respect for all including teammates, coaches, parents, officials & opponents.
- Is a positive ambassador who represents the City of Guelph and the GGHA with pride & dignity.
- Demonstrates accountability, commitment, integrity & a passion for the game.

The "Megan Favaro Spirit Award" is presented annually to a player on the GGHA top tier Under 18 (formerly Midget) representative team, as selected by Members of the Team. The award is given to the person who best personifies the spirit of Guelph Girls Hockey Association as defined by our association Mission & Vision Statement: "The GGHA is dedicated to providing a fun environment for females to develop self-esteem and confidence through hockey, by promoting team work, a strong work ethic and athletic commitment, which develops all members to be the best they can be as players, team mates, and leaders for now and for the future.

2013-14 Inaugural Recipient – Brin Kruger 2014-15 – Renee Gibbons 2015-16 - Banyan Lehman 2016-17 – Susan Noble 2017-18 – Faith Mitchell 2018-19 -2019-20 - Kaija Donaldson 2020-21 -2021-22 – 2022-23 – 2023 – 24 – Emma Collier and Taylor Meredith